Cupcakes

For my 30th birthday drinks, I decided to have cupcakes instead of a cake as it would be easier to serve and I could get lots of different flavours.

There are 3 cupcakes shops in the city that I know and ofcourse I had to test which one made the best cupcakes. First there was BabyCakes at Erskine street. They had lots of fun flavours like Peanut Slide, Jaffa Mud and Rocky Road. But I found their cupcakes a little on the dense side and the small size was just a teeny bit too small.

On to the next shop – The Cupcake Bakery on George street.

The cupcake bakery

I first noticed this shop amidst the hustle and bustle of the opening of the new nightclub The Ivy – it is right outside. I’ve often walked past and longed to go in and buy one of their carrot cupcakes. For the taste test, I bought a vanilla cupcake. I don’t know how it managed to make it home but make it home indeed and I had to share with the boy. It was a better cupcake than BabyCakes – not too sweet. A little on the crumbly side.

Vanilla cupcake

I wanted to try one more place, Cupcakes on Pitt. When cupcake shops were first becoming popular I remember this store to be one of the first. In fact, my first cupcake in adulthood was had at said shop. I did a Google search and found that they now had a website. They had also down-sized their cupcakes (which were quite large, bigger than a cafe muffin) to a smaller size. I think the smaller size is better because you can have a few flavours and get to taste different ones without feeling so full. And they are a great price at $2 each (for all flavours). I visited and bought a vanilla sundae flavour (which I ate on the spot) and then promptly ordered 4 boxes of 12 cupcakes for my party (6 flavours). They are really good with large orders as well, I only had to give 1 days notice for my order.

I didn’t organise a cupcake stand and just brought the boxes in to the party – it worked well. Each cupcake sits in a hole cut out of cardboard that is elevated within the box. Cupcakes on Pitt has by far the best cupcakes and really really yummy flavours. I was really happy with my choice – only problem was I didn’t get to taste all the flavours – oh well, better go back and buy some more!

Cupcakes on Pitt cupcakes

Baby Cakes – City Store
66 Erskine St, Sydney, NSW, 2000
Tel: +61 (02) 9279 2794
Monday to Friday: 8:30am – 5:30pm
Saturday: 10am – 2pm


Cupcakes on Pitt

Shop 2, 323-327 Pitt Street, Sydney
Tel: +61 (02) 9264 4644
Monday to Friday (except public holidays) 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.


The Cupcake Bakery

320B George Street, Sydney NSW
Tel: +61 (02) 9332 3700

Leave a Reply

