Caramel Flan

The first time I tried to make this flan, it tasted great but the middle hadn’t set. When I inverted it, it held it’s shape but as soon as we cut into it, the middle collapsed… the outer edges kept their shape.

I read two recipes, one from All Recipes and one from Dulce Delight.

The first time I made it, I used:

  • 2 cans of condensed milk (300 ml as that is what they had in Canada) – Dulce Delight recipe
  • 2 cups of cream and 1 cup of milk – All Recipe… I figured Dulce Delight uses 750ml of milk
  • 5 eggs – All recipe. This could have been the issue as Dulce uses 6 eggs.

As I said, tasted amazing, but did not hold it’s shape.

The 2nd version, I used:

  • Caramel method from All recipes
  • 2 cans of condensed milk (300ml each)
  • 1 can of evaporated milk (370ml)
  • 1/2 cup of cream

I also baked it differently than the first time. The first time, I baked it uncovered in a water bath for 50 min, then an additional 10 min, then another 20 min.

The 2nd time, I followed Dulce Delight’s instructions, cover with foil, bake in water bath for 30 min. Then 1 hour uncovered. I also used her technique of baking in a cake tin – mine was 8″ – for both versions.

It set and looked great. But I think it cooked a bit long as it is quite firm. No bubbles though, so I know I didn’t overbake it. I let it sit in the water bath until cool to touch and then took it out and transferred the whole container to the fridge.

I am planning on version 3:

  • Caramel method from All recipes
  • filling recipe from Dulce Delight, maybe cutting it down to 2.5 cups of milk rather than 750ml.

Tips:

  1. No need to coat the sides of the cake tin. The caramel will come out and over the flan.
  2. Strain the custard through a fine sieve when pouring into the mold.
  3. Don’t worry if the caramel cracks when you pour the custard over it. It will turn out fine.
  4. To unmold, you can sit the cake tin in a water bath. I did the this first time and it worked great. There was still some caramel on the bottom of the tin. I heated the tin up a little on my gas stove and poured the caramel over the flan. The second time, I didn’t warm it up, just inverted it into a pie dish that was larger than the 8″ cake pan. There was lots of caramel in the tin, but the flan came out with no issues. I heated the cake tin with the remaining caramel on the gas burner and poured the melted caramel over the flan. Be careful not to overheat and burn the caramel.

 

Leave a Reply

